The Last 10 World Cup Finals Stadiums

Soccer/football (depending on where you’re reading this from) is the most popular sport on the planet. What makes it so popular is that all you need is a ball to play, so every country no matter how rich or poor can participate. The ultimate competition for soccer is the World Cup and every four years it is hosted in a different country. Here’s a list of the last 10 World Cup Final stadiums and who played in them.

2010 – Soccer City Stadium – Johannesburg, South Africa
The first World Cup in the continent of Africa took place in South Africa during the summer of 2010. The final was between Spain and the Netherlands, in which Spain became the best country in the world winning the match 1 – 0. There were 84,490 fans in attendance and it was the first time a European country won the world cup outside of Europe.

2006 – Olympiastadion Stadium – Berlin, Germany
The 2006 World Cup was played in the capital of Germany between France and Italy. The game ended in a 1-1 tie, but Italy won the match in penalties. The Olympiastadion stadium was packed full with 69,000 soccer fans. While the match was tough fought, the most memorable moment was when Zinedine Zidane was sent off with a red card in his last game of all time for head butting Italy’s Materazzi in the chest.

2002 – International Stadium Yokohama – Kangawa, Japan
The 2002 World Cup was dual hosted in South Korea and Japan. The final was played between Brazil and Germany, in which Brazil won 2 – 0. The International Stadium Yokohama hosted this final match in the second largest city of Japan with 72,327 people in attendance. It was the 5th time that Brazil had won the World Cup.

1998 – Stade de France – Saint Denis, France
France hosted the 1998 World Cup and the final was played out in the city of Saint Denis at the Stade de France. 75,000 people were in attendance on the day that France dominated Brazil to win the World Cup in their home country 3 – 0. The French legend Zinedine Zidane scored two goals in the first half to path the way to France’s epic victory.

1994 – Rose Bowl Stadium – Pasadena, California, United States
While the Rose Bowl was built specifically for the World Cup, it did play host to the 1994 World Cup Final. After a 0 – 0 match, with just over 94,000 people watching Brazil won the legendary tournament against Italy 3 – 2 in penalties. This was the second time Brazil and met Italy in the World Cup Final and achieved victory once again.

1990 – Stadio Olimpico – Rome, Italy
At the time of the 1990 World Cup Final, Germany was still split into two separate nations. West Germany beat Argentina 1- 0 at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome, to secure their third World Cup title. At that time it was the most World Cups by any team in the world. 73,603 people were at the very ill tempered final in which two red cards were given to Argentina.

1986 – Estadio Azteca- Mexico City, Mexico
The massive Estadio Azteca held 114,600 people to watch the thrilling 1986 World Cup Final. Argentina managed to beat West Germany 3 – 2 in the close fought match. The two teams went on to play each other in the next world cup four years later, which was the first time that happened in World Cup history.

1982 – Estadio Bernabeu – Madrid, Spain
The 1982 World Cup Final was played at the home field of the famous Spanish football club Real Madrid. The stadium held 90,000 people who watched a great match between West Germany and Italy. Italy won the match 3 – 1 which was the third time the country had one the tournament.

1978 – Estadio Monumental – Buenos Aires, Argentina
Argentina played host to the 1978 World Cup. The final was played out in front of 71,483 people in the nations capital. The hosts managed to win the legendary tournament in their home country, overcoming the Netherlands in a 3 – 1 victory.

1974 – Olympiastadion Munchen – Munich, Germany
In front of 75,200 fans West Germany beat the Netherlands in a 2 – 1 victory in their home country. This was the 10th World Cup and the first goals from each side came from penalties. This victory was the second time that West Germany managed to win the Cup.

By Alex Vere Nicoll